A visit to Greenwich Village’s Francois Payard

Francois Payard

Francois Payard has many locations in town, and some sure are more popular than others. I haven’t been to their shops in Midtown West and Upper East Side, but the Greenwich branch came across as a bit underwhelming. Francois Payard is a great pastry chef, but the store looked little like it was owned by someone at his level of expertise.

IMGP2466

IMGP2467

IMGP2468 IMGP2470 IMGP2474 IMGP2476 IMGP2477

The bakery features quite a variety of baked goods and artisan chocolate. The display was lacking energy and diversity, definitely not the full, colorful display cases that I’ve seen in CookingChannel’s Unique Sweets (sighhh). However, I’m here for the macarons:

IMGP2472 IMGP2471 IMGP2469

The pistachio macaron was such an eye-catcher that I decided not to get it 🙂 . I guess my previous experience with pretty things turning out to be not-so-tasty hit a little bit too close to home. At $2.5 a cookie, these macarons are not something my limited college budget would allow me to have much of.

I ended up with the Salted Caramel Macaron, accompanied by a Coffee Eclair (because everything should be accompanied by a coffee eclair). Although the eclair was nothing spectacular, the macaron was absolutely delightful ! The shell was crispy and chewy, which delivered a great bite, and the shell-to-filling ratio was just perfect. My friend didn’t like the salted caramel filling, saying it was too sweet, but I actually found it pretty nice. If there was one thing I could do to make it better, it would definitely be the ‘salt’. Despite having great caramel flavor, it was lacking the distinct saltiness associated with its name.

IMGP2483

  • Francois Payard Bakery
    116 W Houston St
    New York, NY10012
Leave a Reply

