NYC Ramen: Ippudo

On my wild food chase in NYC this winter, we headed to Ippudo ramen. I and a few friends intially set out for Chuko ramen in Brooklyn, only to find it tragically closed for Christmas break. Instead of giving up and hitting a random bakery along the way for a quick breakfast (which is totally what we did), I looked to Yelp for another ramen place ’cause this girl is in her ramen fix. Thanks to the power of the internet (and a pain au chocolat), yours truly found her way to another famous noodle bar in New York: Ippudo.

I should have expected nothing less on holidays as the restaurant was holy PACKED ! We were super lucky to get a table in just 10 minutes, thanks to the big head count (I swore the couple waiting in line gave us very mean looks). I guess it’s better to travel in big groups then?

IMGP2353

IMGP2352

IMGP2351

The wall was decorated with all kinds of ramen bowl. Isn’t that great?
I was tempted to count all of them during the wait lol

IMGP2358

IMGP2355

There’s also a bar for those over 21 ( not me haha). Couldn’t find my favourite creme de menthe

IMGP2371IMGP2375

Finally got our seats ! The menu wasn’t as big as I expected.
Prices are reasonable for ramen I think, that is, before you include all those taxes and tips *rolls eyes*

IMGP2378

My friend opted for the Tonkotsu ramen, which is basically ramen in pork bone based soup.
You may have noticed that it’s missing the famous soft-centered egg. Yes, we were keeping our costs low

IMGP2393

Karaka men ( spicy tonkotsu ramen ) … with EGG ! (since it’s my bowl lol)

IMGP2396IMGP2398

For an addition 3$ you get a rice bowl and a side salads.
The rice is average, but it’s a good option if you have kids around I guess.

IMGP2390

IMGP2389

My favourite has to be this Wasabi ramen, such a delicate taste ! They seem to have a different kind of noodle for this one as well, a bit more wavy and chewier in texture. Highly recommended !

IMGP2400

IMGP2399

Bill for dessert =)), the price is not bad for a good ramen experience.

IMGP2404

This is my first time having ramen in the States and third time having ramen anywhere. Ippudo surely deserves its spot in front league of ramen in New York. The ramen was chewy and delicate, while the broth is packed with flavor. Perhaps the only thing I dislike about Ippudo is the line outside its door, which again confirms that this is one of best ramen place in town.

Ippudo Ramen

  • 65 4th Ave
    New York, NY10003
Leave a Reply

